Egypt’s Sister

Five decades before the birth of Christ, Chava, daughter of the royal tutor, grows up with Urbi, a princess in Alexandria’s royal palace. When Urbi becomes Queen Cleopatra, Chava vows to be a faithful friend no matter what–but after she and Cleopatra have an argument, she finds herself imprisoned and sold into slavery.
Torn from her family, her community, and her elevated place in Alexandrian society, Chava finds herself cast off and alone in Rome. Forced to learn difficult lessons, she struggles to trust a promise HaShem has given her. After experiencing the best and worst of Roman society, Chava must choose between love and honor, between her own desires and God’s will for her life.

Egypt's Sister

Okay, so, I am going to get straight to the point. I simply could not get over the fact that this is a real “historical” fiction. Cleopatra is a real person, and Angela Hunt wrote a fictional story about it. I don’t mind stories that are set in a historical time period but unfortunately not stories that have real life people as main (ish) characters. As much as I give the author kudos for writing a story about a historical character, I just don’t like the fact that they are making up a story about them. Cleopatra, for example, (since this book is kind of about Cleopatra,) is a real life person. She already has her own story. As much as we can imagine, we do not know what the true story is. Everybody has their own theories about some things but we do not know for sure.

Unfortunately, that is why I have to give this book a low rating. I am not going to say that you should never read any of her books again; I just would not recommend this book if you don’t like books about real life people as main characters. Angela is a wonderful writer and author.

The cover is pretty. It is perfect for an Egyptian story. I am going to give it 3 stars.

As for the book, I don’t want to give it a bad rating but I have to be honest. I am going to give it 2 stars. Okay, so for anyone who enjoys reading true historical fiction about real people, you would totally enjoy this book. But for those who don’t, you will probably agree with my first paragraph. I hope that when I read another one of Angela’s books, I will enjoy it more than this one.

 

Title: Egypt’s Sister

Author: Angela Elwell Hunt

Authors’ Website: http://www.angelahuntbooks.com/

 

I received this book from the Bethany House Publishing of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

2 thoughts on “Egypt’s Sister

  1. Hanny says:

    It sounds like a very interesting story although I can understand where you are coming from. I was really into reading these “Royal Diaries” series a few years back but I knew that most of it wasn’t real and I lost interest in them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

