My Perfect Author Panel

It is time for me to plan my perfect panel of authors that would speak at a conference. This is one of the hardest posts that I have had to write because there are so many authors that I would love to hear speak about their writing, characters, stories, etc. But before I begin, I would like to thank Cara from Evenbrite for contacting me about doing a post about my perfect conference for book lovers.

So, without first adieu, I would like to invite you to a “conference” planned by yours truly.

First of all, does anyone have any suggestions as to what to call this conference? Every conference needs a name! I will have to think about it, and if you can think of a name idea, please let me know!

 

Authors on the Panel:

  • Jane Austen
  • JR.R. Tolkien
  • C.S. Lewis
  • J.K. Rowling
  • Janette Oke

 

There are a million of questions that I would like to ask each of these authors. I could go on and on with each author, asking him or her questions galore, but alas, each author only has so much time…same with me! So, I have decided to ask only a few questions per author today.

  • Jane Austen’s stories are some of the most famous romances in the history of the romance genre. It is absolutely crazy that her stories are still read today. How did she do it? How did she manage to make every girl fall in love with Mr. Darcy, Mr. Knightly, and so on? And, last but not least, were any of her characters based off people she knew?
  • J.R.R. Tolkien is one of the most creative authors I have read. First things first, in almost all his books, he wrote songs to go with certain chapters and scenes. Second, he created the world of Middle Earth. Where did he get his inspiration for all the characters in his stories? He created orcs! Now that is something only someone with a huge imagination could come up with. Why did he choose hobbits to be the main characters of his stories? That is something I have always wondered ever since I first read his books and watched the movies.
  • C.S. Lewis’s most famous work is the Chronicles of Narnia. Sure, he wrote other stories, but as soon somebody mentions C.S. Lewis, he or she thinks of the land of Narnia. The question that I would ask C.S. Lewis is why did he make Aslan a lion? There are tons of animals that he could have chosen to be Aslan, but he chose a lion.
  • J.K. Rowling is one of the richest women in the world, by writing the story of the boy who lived. And it all begin with her writing on some napkins. I’m not lying! Where did she get the inspiration behind the four houses at Hogwarts? I mean, you mention any of those four names and almost everybody will know they are from Harry Potter.
  • Janette Oke is one of my favorite authors. I could read her books over and over again. What is her favorite thing about writing westerns? And, what story was her favorite to write?

What are some questions you would like to ask these authors?

 

Who would be on your panel of favorite authors for your conference? What questions would you like to ask your favorite authors?

“If you’d like to find or sign up for a conference or event near you check out “this tool“!

4 thoughts on “My Perfect Author Panel

  1. behindthebooksite says:

    I love your author choices. I would definitely pick all of them, except I would probably replace Janette Oke with Erynn Mangum because she’s my favorite author.
    Have you ever read Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis? He is probably my favorite theology/philosophy author. You should totally check it out it you haven’t

    Like

  2. It Starts With A BOOK says:

    This is so cool! I would have such a hard time choosing what authors to pick, since I read and like so many authors. Every author you picked is one I like. Also, I would ask Jane Austen the same questions you would. (:
    Well done with this interesting post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Much ado about Little Women says:

    What a great idea, an imaginary literary panel! I definitely would want to invite Jane Austen and Tolkien as you’ve mentioned, as well as Louisa May Alcott (and ask about Jo and Laurie), Jasper Fforde (who is Thursday Next based on?), and Anne MacCaffrey (who wrote the dragons of Pern series, what a world!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

