John Ronald’s Dragons: The Story of J.R.R. Tolkien

A captivating picture book biography of a boy who imagined a world full of dragons and grew up….

John Ronald's Dragons

Wow! So, I usually try to write a post on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but something went totally crazy yesterday. It felt like a Friday. Seriously! I kept thinking that I had to work and that my sister was coming home for the weekend. Nope! It was only Thursday. Plus, I had a brother and sister-in-law visiting for the day. So that made it even weirder!

This is a super cool children’s book! I mean, who wouldn’t want to read about J.R.R. Tolkien! Well, of course I would! But that is because I absolutely love Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. To be honest, I have only read The Hobbit, but I have watched all of the movies.

I don’t know how much of the story is actually non-fiction, but it is definitely a good children’s biography.

Can you tell what type of genre I am reading a lot of right now? Yup! Kids’ biographies seem like something I have been reviewing a lot of. Why? I have absolutely no idea. My sister just keeps checking them out so I keep reading them!

But, for those of you who are reading this blog who know kids, you should definitely check this book out! The minute you do, you and the child will be J.R.R. Tolkien fans forever. Well, then again, maybe not.

The cover is very, very creative! I am definitely giving it 5 stars. Eliza Wheeler is a wonderful illustrator!

And, I am giving the story itself 5 stars as well. Caroline McAlister is one children’s author that I will be looking into to find more books by her.

 

Title: John Ronald’s Dragons: The Story of J.R.R. Tolkien

Author: Caroline McAlister

Author’s Website: http://www.carolinemcalisterauthor.com/

Illustrator: Eliza Wheeler

Illustrator’s Website: http://wheelerstudio.com/
This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

2 thoughts on “John Ronald’s Dragons: The Story of J.R.R. Tolkien

Leave a Reply

