Safe in His Arms

Sometimes it takes a stranger to see you as you really are.
Born and raised on sprawling Texas land, Margaret O’Brien prides herself on her competence as a rancher. But her father believes she’s made for more than just dawn-to-dusk work. He wants her to have the love of a good man, to raise children, to build a life. But Margaret gave up such dreams years ago. She’s convinced no man would have her, that the ranch is her life now.
So when Margaret’s father hires Daniel Cutler as a new foreman, she’s frustrated and suspicious. Then an overheard conversation links him with a gang of bank robbers, and she’s downright worried. Daniel swears he’s not involved, but Margaret’s not convinced. She knows the man still has secrets. But would a criminal be so kind and talk so convincingly of his faith? As a series of tragic “accidents” threatens all she holds dear, Margaret must decide what to trust: her own ears, her best judgment . . . or what her heart keeps telling her.

Safe in His Arms

Wow! It seems like it has been a long time away from my blog but it has only been a few days. Maybe the reason that it has seemed like a long time is because I have been non-stop working throughout the entire weekend. I have been clearing land (yes, I even chopped down a tree) for my family’s new house as well as working at my summer job. So, it has been quite hectic!

Anyway, back to Safe in His Arms.

I had high hopes for this book. I really wanted it to be good. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy it that much. I just did not like Margaret or Daniel at all. The whole story was just confusing, with too many things/characters going on at once.

I am not at all trying to bash Colleen Coble. I will definitely try another book by her. I simply may have to try a different series.

The main reason I did not like the book was Margaret. She seemed like a child. One minute she was nice to Daniel and then the next she was spitting fire at him. I was quite confused as to whether she liked Daniel or not, even at the end.

The plot was also unclear. Daniel’s story was a secret for way too long. I pretty much just got tired of it and simply wanted to finish the book.

The cover was pretty. That is the main reason that this book intrigued me. I went to the library and looked through her books. I chose this book because I liked the cover the best…from what I saw. I am going to give it 4 stars.

As for the book, I am going to give it 2 stars. I did not enjoy it, and unfortunately am not going to recommend this novel. I would say to first time readers, like myself, to start with a different book. But, to all Colleen Coble fans who are reading this review, never fear! I will find another book and give her a second chance. Any recommendations?

 

Title: Safe in His Arms

Author: Colleen Coble

Author’s Website: http://colleencoble.com/

Reading Resolution: #14 (Denise Hunter is always recommending Colleen Coble’s books so I decided to try one!)

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

Leave a Reply

