True To You

Exciting Start of a Brand-New Series by a Contemporary Romance Fan Favorite
After a devastating heartbreak three years ago, genealogist and historical village owner Nora Bradford has decided that burying her nose in her work and her books is far safer than romance in the here and now.
Unlike Nora, former Navy SEAL and Medal of Honor recipient John Lawson is a modern-day man, usually 100 percent focused on the present. But when he’s diagnosed with an inherited condition, he’s forced to dig into the secrets of his past and his adoption as an infant, enlisting Nora to help him uncover the identity of his birth mother.
The more time they spend together, the more this pair of opposites suspects they just might be a perfect match. However, John’s already dating someone and Nora’s not sure she’s ready to trade her crushes on fictional heroes for the risks of a real relationship. Finding the answers they’re seeking will test the limits of their identity, their faith, and their devotion to one another.

True to You

I read just a few chapters of this book and I already knew that I was going to love it. There was just one simple paragraph that mentioned—well, actors…who are….amazing….hot…and I’ll just stop there.

First things first, Colin Firth from the Pride and Prejudice BBC TV series is mentioned. Okay, he is not the actor who I consider “hot”. His amazing acting makes up for it. He is one of the best actors that I have ever seen. I have watched many other movies with him in it. Seriously, he is fabulous! When I saw that, I was like “Oh, yeah, this is a great book.”

Second of all, Richard Armitage is mentioned. If you have ever watched a movie with him in it, you know why I am mentioning him. He is just hot (please, don’t judge me!). I am not going to lie. I read this book exactly at the right time. I had just finished re-watching North and South, which has Armitage playing Mr. Thornton. And, I had just started re-watching The Hobbit.  If you watched The Hobbit and didn’t fall in love with him, I will literally go into shock (no joke). He pretty much makes the show—well, and Fili (Dean O’Gorman) and Kili (Aidan Turner). I can’t really decide among those three, though. Okay, all the other actors in The Hobbit are really awesome too. Anyway, when I saw Armitage’s name, I thought (and probably squealed) “This is totally going to be an amazing book!”

There also was a mention of Mr. Rochester from Jane Eyre. I didn’t like that part as much, because I personally like Toby Stephens as Mr. Rochester, and Nora liked the other actors.

Wow! Great heart to heart talk! I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

But, I should write a little bit about the rest of the book. Because, I just wrote three paragraphs about a single paragraph.

Nora was a great main character, as was John. I personally liked Nora a lot because she was a bookworm and I am one too (if you couldn’t tell)!

Personally, though, I really am excited for Willow’s and Britt’s book. I am most excited about Willow’s though, because I really liked Corbin from Her One and Only. I cannot wait until those come out, which unfortunately, is a long way away. Britt’s story just seems really interesting!

Parts of the story, though, were quite sad. The story of Nora’s and John’s mothers were super sad and just made me want to cry. So, due to the mothers’ stories, I would recommend this to mature readers.

The cover is super good! Even though it has her face on the cover, I still really like it! Everything about it is just so elegant. I am definitely giving it 5 stars!

The book also deserves 5 stars! I am super excited to read the rest of the book in this series. If you can’t guess, I recommend this book to those who like a book full of romance and intrigue!

 

Title: True to You

Author: Becky Wade

Author’s Website: http://beckywade.com/home/

 

I received this book from the Bethany House Publishing of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

One thought on “True To You

Leave a Reply

