The Shadow Throne

One war. Too many deadly battles. Can a king save his kingdom when his own survival seems unlikely?
War has come to Carthya. It knocks at every door and window in the land. And when Jaron learns that King Vargan of Avenia has kidnapped Imogen in a plot to bring Carthya to its knees, Jaron knows it is up to him to embark on a daring rescue mission. But everything that can go wrong does.
His friends are flung far and wide across Carthya and its neighbouring lands. In a last-ditch effort to stave off what looks to be a devastating loss for the kingdom, Jaron undertakes what may be his last journey to save everything and everyone he loves. But even with his lightning-quick wit, Jaron cannot forestall the terrible danger that descends on him and his country. Along the way, will he lose what matters most? And in the end, who will sit on Carthya’s throne?

Shadow Throne

And now the final installment of the Ascendance Trilogy. This is the best trilogy—well, one of the best trilogies that I have ever read. I can’t say that it is the best best—for I have many more favorite series/trilogies!

My favorite scene is definitely the first chapter. I love it! I mean, the entire argument is wonderfully written. When I thought about writing a review on this book, the first scene that popped in my mind was the argument between Jaron and Roden.

As for the rest of the story, I don’t know what to say about it. It is fabulous. Each and every character had their own story and ‘wrap up’ for this last book in the trilogy. Some parts made me want to cry, laugh, and (I’m not lying) everything in between. Jennifer didn’t just write the story with one mood. Nope, each chapter had a different mood and tone. I loved it!

When I read the last chapter, I was so sad—not because the story ending was horrible but because the trilogy had ended. There would be no more new stories about Sage, Roden, Tobias, Imogen, Mott, and many of the other characters. I probably even cried the first time I finished this book.

I really liked this cover. As I was waiting for this book to be published and when I saw the cover, I was so intrigued! I am going to give it 5 stars!

The rest of the book in this trilogy (The False Prince and The Runaway King) I have given 5 stars. And, if you are thinking that I am going to give this book less than 5 stars, perhaps you should re-read the review above. There is no way that I am giving this book 4 or fewer stars. This book deserves 5 stars. Jennifer is an amazing author, and I recommend this trilogy to anyone and everyone!!!

 

Title: The Shadow Throne

Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen

Author’s Website: http://www.jennielsen.com/

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

Giveaway Alert:

The giveaway of any book from the Ascendance Trilogy ends tonight at midnight! This is the last call to anyone who would like a chance to win one of Jennifer’s amazing books! Enter the giveaway here: Interview with Jennifer A. Nielsen ~ Plus a Giveaway.

Leave a Reply

