The Runaway King

A kingdom teetering on the brink of destruction. A king gone missing. Who will survive? Find out in the highly anticipated sequel to Jennifer A. Nielsen’s blockbuster The False Prince!
Just weeks after Jaron has taken the throne, an assassination attempt forces him into a deadly situation. Rumors of a coming war are winding their way between the castle walls, and Jaron feels the pressure quietly mounting within Carthya. Soon, it becomes clear that deserting the kingdom may be his only hope of saving it. But the further Jaron is forced to run from his identity, the more he wonders if it is possible to go too far. Will he ever be able to return home again? Or will he have to sacrifice his own life in order to save his kingdom?
The stunning second installment of The Ascendance Trilogy takes readers on a roller-coaster ride of treason and murder, thrills and peril, as they journey with the Runaway King!

Runaway King.jpg

Time for the review of the second option of the giveaway. (You will have to wait just a day or two more until I review the last option of the giveaway). This is the second book in the Ascendance Trilogy. The False Prince is the first book. To read my review of that book, click here: The False Prince.

This book is awesome, and I totally recommend it! But, I do have to say one thing. The first time I read it, I had to take a break. For some reason, I just couldn’t get into it. My older sister said the same thing, so I was kind of confused. But, I tried just a week or two later and I was hooked!!! I don’t know why I couldn’t get into it. I mean, it is absolutely wonderful! I fell in love with Sage even more. Jaron was even pretty cool too. But, Sage was still the best personality (if we are going to go into the Sage vs. Jaron thing…).

The plot was really great. It really matured the characters, and I loved watching them grow with each passing event.

Once again, the cover is really cool. It is a broken sword—who wouldn’t want to pick up that kind of book? I am going to give it 5 stars!

I can’t say that it was as good as The False Prince but it comes really close! And, if you are wondering about my rating, (which I honestly think you are not) I am giving The Runaway King 5 stars! It deserves it one hundred percent!

 

Title: The Runaway King

Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen

Author’s Website: http://www.jennielsen.com/

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

Giveaway Alert:

The giveaway of any of the Ascendance Trilogy books is ending in less than forty-eight hours! Be sure to enter now! Here is the link to the post: Interview with Jennifer A. Nielsen ~ Plus a Giveaway.

Leave a Reply

