Interview with Jen Turano ~ Plus a Giveaway

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, I would like to introduce Jen Turano to my blog!!! Along with this wonderful interview, I am also hosting a giveaway for her newest book, Behind the Scenes. I hope you all enjoy reading this interview, as much as I did writing it with Jen. She is a fabulous author! Every single book of hers (that I have read, of course) has held me intrigued until the very end!

Thank you so much, Jen, for doing this with me! I have really enjoyed chatting with you through email and learning more about you and your books. I hope you had a great time. I certainly did!

If you have any questions or comments, please contact me by messaging me or commenting on this post.

About Jen Turano:Jen Turano.jpg

A USA Today Best-Selling Author, Jen Turano has written the critically acclaimed Ladies of Distinction series, and A Class of Their Own series, published through Bethany House Publishers. Her novel, After a Fashion, was chosen as a top pick from Romantic Times, as well as being named a top ten romance of 2015 from Booklist.  It is also a nominee for Romantic Times 2015 Reviewers’ Choice Award. Her book, A Most Peculiar Circumstance, was chosen as a top ten romance by Booklist in 2013. Her seventh book, Playing the Part, released in the spring of 2016, and will be followed by a new four-book series, Apart from the Crowd. When she’s not writing, Jen spends her time outside of Denver with her husband and neurotic Cattle Dog, enjoying herself as an empty-nester since her son recently abandoned her for the college life. She can be found on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jenturanoauthor/ or visit her on the web at http://www.jenturano.com. She is represented by the Natasha Kern Literary Agency. Her books may be found in fine bookstores, or follow the Baker House Publishing link to find additional places to purchase her work – http://bakerpublishinggroup.com/authors/jen-turano/1761.

Interview:

  1. Is there a lesson that you would like your readers to learn after reading your books?

What I really want readers to get out of my books is entertainment.  I hope to provide a bit of an escape from the hectic business we call life, and if I manage to do that, I consider my job done – and then on to the next book.

  1. Are any of your stories/characters/scenes based off of a real-life incident/person?

Almost all of my characters are based off people I know, while the scenes in my books are normally inspired by events I dig up while combing through research books about the Gilded Age.

  1. What is your favorite cover out of all of your books? Do you think they all fit each book’s storyline?

A Change of Fortune.pngMy very favorite cover is “A Change of Fortune.”  It was the first book I ever sold, and when I saw the cover for the first time, I lost the ability to breathe.  As for whether I believe my covers fit the stories – for the most part, yes.  If I get too close to a character and then I don’t think the model looks exactly how I picture her in my head, it takes me a week or two to adjust.  But I’ve always adored each of my covers and am certainly fortunate to have such a wonderful team working on them for me.

  1. How long did it take you to write your first book? How long, generally, does it take you now to write a book as an experienced writer? What do you wish you knew early on as a writer that you know now?

The first book I wrote was a middle-grade titled “Fanglers.”  I wrote it with the assistance of my third-grade son at the time, and I think it took us about three weeks to write.  It was awful.  I’m a fairly fast writer, so it takes me about three to four months to write a book now.  I like releasing two books a year.  That’s manageable and allows me to have time to complete rewrites, then copy/line edits, and then marketing –  What I wish I knew early on – oh, I could write a book about that, but I think the most important thing any aspiring writer needs to understand is the scope of the competition.  There are tens of millions of writers out there, and the reason it’s so important to grasp that is because it allows an aspiring writer to understand that rejection is just part of the game.  It’s going to happen.  So, take the rejections, take the suggestions if any happen to come with those rejections, and keep on writing.

  1. If there was one place in the world you could travel to, where would it be and why?

I would like to go back to Newport.  I’ve been there before, but now, with the amount of research I’ve done recently about the ‘cottages’ there, I’d like to return because it’s more real to me now.

  1. What is the first book (besides all of yours!) that you would recommend to someone who asked for a recommendation?

I love Elizabeth Camden’s “Against the Tide” or Julie Klassen’s “The Silent Governess.”

  1. Do you have a writer’s kryptonite(weakness)? If so, what is it?

A messy house.  I don’t work well if everything isn’t tidy.  I can be in the middle of a chapter and if I notice that there’s dust on the furniture, or the refrigerator is looking grim, I have to stop and clean.  And then, in the summer, I can get completely distracted if the grass needs mowing.  I absolutely adore cutting the grass, so there I’ll be, writing away, and I’ll hear a lawn mower in the distance, and…I’ll be outside in a blink of an eye.

Thank you so much for having me, Haley!  How fun 😊

Giveaway:

Behind the Scenes by Jen Turano

Behind the Scenes.jpg

Miss Permilia Griswold may have been given the opportunity of a debut into New York high society, but no one warned her she wasn’t guaranteed to “take.” After spending the last six years banished to the wallflower section of the ballroom, she’s finally putting her status on the fringes of society to good use by penning anonymous society gossip columns under the pseudonym “Miss Quill.”

Mr. Asher Rutherford has managed to maintain his status as a reputable gentleman of society despite opening his own department store. While pretending it’s simply a lark to fill his time, he has quite legitimate reasons for needing to make his store the most successful in the country.
When Permilia overhears a threat against the estimable Mr. Rutherford, she’s determined to find and warn the man. Disgruntled at a first meeting that goes quite poorly and results in Asher not believing her, she decides to take matters into her own hands, never realizing she’ll end up at risk as well.

As Asher and Permilia are forced to work together and spend time away from the spotlight of society, perhaps there’s more going on behind the scenes than they ever could have anticipated. . . .


By the way, my review of Behind the Scenes is coming soon! (And just so you know, it is a good review!)

Click here to enter the giveaway: a Rafflecopter giveaway

And the winner is…Janelle L. Congratulations! I will email you immediately!

Thank you so much, everyone, for entering!!!

27 thoughts on “Interview with Jen Turano ~ Plus a Giveaway

  1. Jeanette Durkin says:

    If I could travel anywhere, it would be to France. Not just Paris, but the whole country! I’ve always been enamored with France and the pastries!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather Navarro says:

    I have always wanted to visit Ireland and Scotland. I have always been fascinated with Irish and Scotish history. Plus my ancestors on my Mother’s side are Scotish.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Crystal says:

    Ah…. that’s a hard question! I’ve always wanted to visit England. I’m not exactly sure what got me started on that… (but I partially blame Moshi Monsters, since they’re based out of England, and I was obsessed with that game for years.)
    I have always wanted to see the Buckingham Palace. It’s so cool! Then, I’m amazed at how they love tea (unless that’s changed) because I do not really like it, unless it’s the artificial Brisk Raspberry Iced Tea. And I’m trying to imagine driving on the wrong side of the road, although it’s right side in the UK…. but wrong in the USA. Confusing.
    I’ve also always admired the area, through pictures of course.
    This turned into a long comment, but who doesn’t love that? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vickie Jameson says:

    There are 3 places I’d love to visit. France – because I’ve always been fascinated by the language and would love to see the sites; Israel – because I’d love to take a “walk through the Bible” and experience first-hand some of the sights I’ve only read about; Disney World because I went once and had such a great time, I’d love to go back with my children. Thanks for the chance to win a prize! I love Jen’s books. They make me laugh out loud every time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. agboss777 says:

    GREAT interview! I would love to travel to Hawaii! I love warm weather, and my husband and I have dreamed of going there! I have heard of so many wonderful experiences from people who have gone there.

    Thanks for the opportunity of this giveaway!!

    ~Alison

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

