Playing the Part

Lucetta Plum is an actress on the rise in New York City, but is forced to abandon her starring role when a fan’s interest turns threatening. Lucinda’s widowed friend, Abigail Hart, is delighted at the opportunity to meddle in Lucetta’s life and promptly whisks her away to her grandson’s estate to hide out.
Bram Haverstein may appear to simply be a somewhat eccentric gentleman of means, but a mysterious career and a secret fascination with a certain actress mean there’s much more to him than society knows.
Lucetta, who has no interest in Abigail’s matchmaking machinations, has the best intentions of remaining cordial but coolly distant to Bram. But when she can’t ignore the strange and mysterious things going on in his house, it’ll take more than good intentions to keep her from trying to discover who Bram is behind the part he plays.

PlayingThePart_mck.indd

This was my first novel by Jen Turano. Why I have not reviewed it yet? I have no idea. It has been on my list to be reviewed; I just haven’t written about it until now!
Anyway, this is my favorite Jen Turano novel to date! The hilarity of it is amazing! I have never read a book that is quite like this. Sure, there are books filled with amusement and such, but I have never come across something quite like this book!
Lucetta and Bram are wonderful characters! My favorite scene in the entire novel is when Bram is carrying Lucetta up the stairs after she fainted. I couldn’t stop laughing! Most novels have it where the heroes of the story can pick up the heroine like she weighed only a feather. This book was not like that. I mean, not all guys are beasts and not all girls are size two (and that is okay with me). This story portrayed that fact.

This cover is one of my favorites out of all of Jen’s books. I have looked through pretty much all of her covers, and, to be honest, not many of them are my favorite. But! This one is definitely really pretty! I am going to give it 5 stars!

This novel definitely deserves 5 stars! I couldn’t put it down, and I definitely recommend it to everyone and anyone!

To read my review of In Good Company by Jen Turano, click here: In Good Company. And, watch out for my review on Behind the Scenes!

Title: Playing the Part

Author: Jen Turano

Author’s Website: http://jenturano.com/

Reading Resolution: #7 (Look! A red cover!)

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

Giveaway Countdown:

My giveaway ends tonight at midnight! Last chance to enter! Click here: Giveaway Link.

Also, Holly’s giveaway (at It Starts with A Book) ends tonight at midnight as well. Don’t wait to enter here: Holly’s Giveaway.

One thought on “Playing the Part

Leave a Reply

