The Sandwich Swap

Lily and Salma are best friends. They like doing all the same things, and they always eat lunch together. Lily eats peanut butter and Salma eats hummus-but what’s that between friends? It turns out, a lot. Before they know it, a food fight breaks out. Can Lily and Salma put aside their differences? Or will a sandwich come between them?
The smallest things can pull us apart-until we learn that friendship is far more powerful than difference. In a glorious three-page gatefold at the end of the book, Salma, Lily, and all their classmates come together in the true spirit of tolerance and acceptance.

 The Sandwich Swap

My sister works at a library, and one day she saw a picture book by the Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah. Knowing that I like to read books with cool authors (for whatever age), she checked it out for me. I mean, I totally want to read a book by a queen! Queen Rania Al Abdullah is the queen of Jordan, just in case you were wondering! So, I am counting Reading Resolution #29 as this book. I mean, the title didn’t really make me go “Hmm” but the author did!

This book was definitely a picture book worth reading. It held a great lesson too. I have to say, though, I would be Lily. I love peanut butter jelly sandwiches! Although I do like hummus and pita bread on occasion.

Anyway, I really like the lesson in the book. It is definitely worth the read for any child, parent, or babysitter. (And, yes, you know that I always mention the babysitter when I am writing reviews of children’s books because I am one!)

The cover was cute! I really liked it! It was perfect for a children’s book! I am going to give it 5 stars!

The book was also really good, as you can see from what I wrote about it. No matter what, we should always accept the differences between us. Friendship is always worth it. Five stars to The Sandwich Swap!

 

Title: The Sandwich Swap

Authors: Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah and Kelly DiPucchio

Illustrator: Tricia Tusa

Author’s Website: http://www.kellydipucchio.com/home.html

Illustrator’s Website: http://www.triciatusa.com/

Reading Resolution: #29

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

