Grace and the Preacher

The Kansas community of Fairland anticipates the arrival of their new minister and in recent months, late in 1882, postmistress Grace Cristler has communicated with Reverend Dille via letters, answering his questions about the little town, and developing affection for the man who pens thoughtful missives.
Theophil Garrison grew up under the loving influence of his saintly grandmother, but was roped into his cousins’ train-robbing plan. When they fail and are apprehended, Theo fled the scene, evading jail time. Now an angry cousin is out to avenge Theo’s duplicity, and he’s on the run. He encounters a fatally ill traveler–a minister. Seeing a way to keep hidden, Theo trades identities with the man, dons his fine black suit, carries a Bible, and prays that he’ll be accepted as Rufus Dille.
Once in Fairland, if Theo’s true identity is uncovered, what will be left of the world he has built for himself, Grace, and those in the town who have come to love and accept him?

Grace and the Preacher

If you read my review of Guide Me Home, you will know that I did not enjoy that book. And I said that I hope her other books are better. Well, It Starts with a Book recommended it to me so I decided to give it a try. To read her review, click here. You should pop over to that blog and see what reviews have been posted lately!

Anyway, so I started reading it. I gave Kim a new, clean slate. I would not judge this book by Guide Me Home. I have to say that I like this one a lot better than Guide Me Home, but it still isn’t a favorite. I enjoyed reading it, but I will probably only read it this once.

The worst part about it for me was that it dragged on for a little too long. In my opinion, the book was too slow.

I really like the cover. I am being serious. It pretty much explains the setting immediately. I also like the fact that she is reading a letter. I mean, the whole story revolves around some letters and some lies (I am not kidding!). I am going to give the cover 4 stars!

I am going to give the book 3 stars. It was a sweet love story. I would recommend it to anyone who already likes Kim’s other books and to those who like a sweet, wholesome story.

 

Title: Grace and the Preacher

Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer

Author’s Website: https://www.kimvogelsawyer.com/

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

