A Merchant’s Daughter

An unthinkable danger. An unexpected choice. Annabel, once the daughter of a wealthy merchant, is trapped in indentured servitude to Lord Ranulf, a recluse who is rumored to be both terrifying and beastly. Her circumstances are made even worse by the proximity of Lord Ranulf s bailiff a revolting man who has made unwelcome advances on Annabel in the past. Believing that life in a nunnery is the best way to escape the escalation of the bailiff’s vile behavior and to preserve the faith that sustains her, Annabel is surprised to discover a sense of security and joy in her encounters with Lord Ranulf. As Annabel struggles to confront her feelings, she is involved in a situation that could place Ranulf in grave danger. Ranulf’s future, and possibly his heart, may rest in her hands, and Annabel must decide whether to follow the plans she has cherished or the calling God has placed on her heart.

Merchant's Daughter

I think that this was the first book that I read by Melanie Dickerson. But, I am not positive. Either way, it left a good impression on me otherwise I wouldn’t keep reading her books! But, believe me, I am still excited for her newest books!

The reason I am writing this review is because of the new live-action Beauty and the Beast! I mean, why not post a book review on a retelling of Beauty and the Beast? I think it sounds like a great idea!

There is one problem with Annabel that I could not get over. In this book, she is supposed to have blonde hair (or kind of blonde hair). But! She is supposed to be a version of Belle, and Belle is a brunette. I could not picture Annabel with blonde hair for one second. As soon as I realized this was a Beauty and the Beast retelling, Annabel had brown hair.

Anyway, the story was really great! It isn’t my favorite book by Melanie, but it is one of my favorites! Melanie did a great job with this retelling. Anybody who enjoys the story of Beauty and the Beast will definitely enjoy this book! I greatly enjoyed Annabel and Ranulf’s story, and I am so glad that Melanie tied their story in with the Hagenheim series! I was super excited when I heard about that!

The cover is very good. I really like it. Everything about it screamed Beauty and the Beast, even though book covers can’t scream. The only thing I didn’t like was Ranulf in the mirror. I wish that I didn’t see his face because I like coming up with my own pictures of them, using the descriptions in the book. So, I will give this book cover 4 stars.

As for the book, I am also giving it 4 stars. If you are wondering why I didn’t give it 5 stars? Well, that is because it didn’t beat Melanie’s five-star book (in my opinion) A Captive Maiden. That is my all-time favorite book by her. However, A Merchant’s Daughter was definitely worth every minute I sat reading it!

 

Title: A Merchant’s Daughter

Author: Melanie Dickerson

Author’s Website: http://www.melaniedickerson.com/

 

To read my review of A Captive Maiden, click here

To read my review of A Silent Songbird, click here

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

