In the Shadow of Denali

Cassidy Ivanoff and her father John, a wilderness guide, work at a prestigious new hotel outside Mt. McKinley. John’s new apprentice, Allan Brennan, finds a friend in Cassidy, but the real reason he’s here–to learn the truth about his father’s death–is far more dangerous than he knows.

in-the-shadow-of-denali

Can I be very honest with you today? Like—very, very honest? I expected a lot more from this book. I thought it was going to be exciting, adventurous, and romantic. To be honest, it wasn’t really any of that.

The book wasn’t intriguing. It seemed like all they did was think—literally. There wasn’t even that many interactions between Cassidy and Allan. There didn’t even seem like there was a climax.

And please, do not think that I am trying to stab Tracie and Kimberley in the heart. I am not. I am just trying to say that this book could have been better. I am very sad that this is my first book by Tracie and Kimberley. I hear a lot of good things about their books, and I was hoping that this book would live up to my expectations. I am going to try to read another one of their books. I just hope that it will be better than this one.

Okay, so about the cover, there is one thing that drove me crazy. A girl like Cassidy, actually any girl in the era of this book, would not look like the girl on the cover. No way. But, the rest of the cover was nice. So, I am going to give this book cover 2 stars.

As for the book, unfortunately, I am going to give it 1 star. I would not recommend this book. I hope that the rest of their books are a lot better than this one. And, I am not saying that you shouldn’t read any of Tracie’s or Kimberley’s other books. I am just not recommending this one.

 

Title: In the Shadow of Denali

Author: Tracie Peterson and Kimberley Woodhouse

Author’s Website: http://traciepetersonbooks.com/ and http://kimandkaylawoodhouse.com/

Reading Resolution: #53

 

I received this book from the Bethany House Division <http://bakerpublishinggroup.com/bethanyhouse&gt; of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

