The Outcasts

From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger’s Apprentice!
They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others – they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger’s Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn’t mean they don’t have skills. And courage – which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger’s Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger’s Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.
Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

The Outcasts.jpg

Have I reviewed the Ranger’s Apprentice series? No?! Wait! What? Seriously! I can’t believe that I haven’t reviewed Ranger’s Apprentice. I really really need to review that series. It is like the best series ever! But, I am not reviewing that series right now. I am reviewing the first book in the Brotherband Chronicles, The Outcasts.  

I really enjoyed this book. It was super good and intriguing. Hal was a great main character, but do you know who I liked even more? Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Thorn! Thorn was absolutely awesome! He was so cool! I felt bad for him at the beginning, especially because of the first chapter (or was it the prologue?). But, yes, I really liked Thorn. And, to be honest, I liked all of the Herons. Hal, Stig, Stefan, Ingvar, Edvin, Jesper were all awesome! I don’t know who I liked the best though, but for parts of the story I liked Stig the least. His temper tantrums were kind of annoying. I also liked the Wolves brotherband. They were pretty cool too.

The cover was very cool. From what I saw online, there are a bunch of different covers, but I like the cover above the best. I would give it…3 stars.

As for the book, I would definitely give it 4 stars. It isn’t Ranger’s Apprentice, but it was great! I would definitely recommend to all those who liked adventures! I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

Title: The Outcasts

Author: John Flanagan

Author’s Website: http://www.worldofjohnflanagan.com/

Reading Resolution: #25

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

One thought on “The Outcasts

Leave a Reply

