Interview with Lisa Tawn Bergren ~ Plus a Giveaway

Welcome to all newcomers to Cover to Cover and Everything In Between! Welcome back to all those who have already visited this blog! I am so happy that you stopped by today to read this amazing interview with this amazing author! Please help me welcome Lisa Tawn Bergren to Cover to Cover and Everything In Between!!!

Plus, Lisa and I have an extra special giveaway. The winner will be able to choose between Three Wishes OR Four Winds!

If you have any questions or comments, please contact me by messaging me or commenting on this post.

About Lisa:         Lisa T Bergren.jpg

Lisa Tawn Bergren is the best-selling, award-winning author of over 40 books, with more than 2.5 million copies sold. She recently finished a teen series called Remnants (Season of Wonder, Season of Fire, Season of Glory). She’s also written the River of Time Series (WaterfaBourne and Tributary.jpgll, Cascade, Torrent, Bourne & Tributary, Deluge) and The Grand Tour Series (Glamorous Illusions, Grave Consequences, Glittering Promises). She just released a new time-slip romance duology called River of Time: California (Three Wishes and Four Winds) and is researching her next trilogy, The Sugar Baron’s Daughters (releasing in 2018).
Lisa’s time is split between managing home base, writing, consulting and helping Tim with his business. Her husband Tim is a sculptor of ducks-out-of-fenceposts (RMRustic.com), graphic designer and musician. They have three kids–Olivia (21), Emma (18) and Jack (13).
All five of the Bergrens make their home in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Questions:

Question: So, you probably get asked this a lot, but I am curious. How did you come up with the idea of River of Time? Waterfall_cov-e1389568232964-266x400

Answer: I wanted to write a book/series for my teen daughters, who were both reluctant readers. I wanted the romance of TWILIGHT and the fast pace of HUNGER GAMES,  and I’d always loved the idea of time travel…so WATERFALL was born!

Question: I know this will probably be the hardest question you will ever get, but I have to ask it anyway. Who is your favorite character from the River of Time(River of Time California included) series? I know, I know, you are probably cringing. So, I will even make this a bit easier for you. Who is your favorite couple?

Answer: Gabi, because there’s a lot of me in her. And therefore, Gabi and Marcello. 🙂

Question: I love the covers of all of your River of Time books! Which one do you like the best? Do the faces on the covers fit your image of the woman or man they are supposed to be?Torrent_cov_fin0411-e1389568714471-266x400

Answer: I love them too! The only one I don’t care for is TORRENT, because in my mind, Marcello looked much different than that dude in the wig. But it’s hard to find handsome Italian models in Portland, OR, where the designer was shooting the photos!!

Question: Many fans of your first River of Time series have been wondering if you will ever do a spin-off series with Gabi’s and Lia’s children. Have you ever thought of doing that?

Answer: I have. And I’m still considering it. I think it would be more likely that I’d go to great-great-grandchildren during the Renaissance.Deluge.jpg

Question: You have done many different genre books and series (western, historical fiction, contemporary, children, non-fiction, and so on), what genre if your favorite to write? What is your favorite to read?

Answer:I love to read everything—I’ve always been that way (even the back of cereal boxes)! That’s probably why I’m always writing in different genres. But I adored writing time-slip romances. Loved having contemporary characters/narrators and seeing their historical time through their eyes (but with contemporary language). It’s certainly the easiest writing I’ve ever done, so I think it’s a sweet spot.

Cascade.jpgQuestion: How much research did you have to do for all of your River of Time books? Have you traveled to any of the settings of your books?

Answer:I’d done medieval research for a previous series, The Gifted (THE BEGOTTEN, etc), which was also set in Italy. It took me about 6 months. But then I could use it for this series too!

Question: Can you give us any hints about any books that you will be writing in the future?

Answer: The River of Time California duo logy just published (THREE WISHES and FOUR WINDS). I’m currently writing the first in a historical trilogy set in the 1770s in the West Indies—pirates and revolution and all sorts of wonderful drama. That series will begin to publish Spring, 2018 with Bethany House.

Giveaway:

Three Wishes by Lisa Tawn Bergren

(Read my review for Three Wishes to see what I think of this book! Also, in that review is a link to my review of the River to Time series, which is amazing!!!)

Three Wishes.jpg

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR. BECAUSE YOU JUST MIGHT GET IT.

Zara Ruiz is a normal California girl on the verge of graduating from high school and thinking about her dawning future. But when dusk brings a shattering loss—and she discovers a priceless object in the shallows of a tide pool—she is thrust a hundred-and-eighty years into the past. There she meets handsome ranchero Javier de la Ventura—who has big dreams and secret sorrows—along with his enchanting family, in a land that is at once familiar, and yet utterly foreign.

Between cattle rustlers, pirates and a growing call for statehood, it is not a peaceful time to be a Mexican settler in young Alta California. But Zara must decide if she’s discovered what she longs for most in the past, or if her heart’s THREE WISHES can only be found in the present.

 

OR

Four Winds by Lisa Tawn Bergren Four Winds.jpg

(I am very excited to read this book!!! I will be sure to review as soon as possible!)

Zara Ruiz has never been so happy to have failed at something in her life—trying to return to her own time. In Javier de la Ventura’s arms, she knows that 1840 is where she belongs…where she’s found true love and family. But then the ranch is viciously attacked, and she and Javier’s little brother are kidnapped and she finds herself at the mercy of the FOUR WINDS, no longer certain where her journey might end.

This giveaway is ONLY for United States residents.

Enter here: a Rafflecopter giveaway

And the winner is Karis! Congrats!

Thank you all for entering!!!

22 thoughts on “Interview with Lisa Tawn Bergren ~ Plus a Giveaway

  1. Gina says:

    The only series I’ve read set in the Medieval Times is Lisa’s River of Time. I would venture out and pick up a few books here and there but nothing really seemed RIGHT after RoT. I felt like something was missing in my soul when I finished Deluge. Sigh…. I need some more Gabi and Lia.

    Like

  2. Terah says:

    I have not read a lot of medieval fiction, but I absolutely love The Gifted series and of course The River of Time series is one of my favorites!

    Like

  3. Sabreena N. says:

    I love the river of time series! I’m currently on the last book on the series. My mom and sister and I are all reading them together as a mother/daughter book club. I can’t wait to read the river of time California series though:)

    Like

  4. monlia says:

    never been the reader type until i came across the river of time series I miss all the characters but honestly if Lisa could write just one more series of the river of time I honestly think that would be the best feeling far better than winning a lottery please LIsa can you make it happen just this one time

    Like

  5. nelly says:

    very interesting interview. ” great-grandchildren during the Renaissance”?.
    i think that would be really awesome but if that happens does that mean no more Gabi and Lia perspective? cause am curious to know if Lia ever actually got over her depression and where her friendship with Luca lies, also how being parents changed both their lives and if Aessandra steps out of her shell and is able to rule castle Greco alone.
    cause man if their not in it that’s going to break me into thousands emotional pieces
    #She-Wolf please live on

    Like

  6. Randombitswitha says:

    This is fantastic! As soon as Three Wishes was released I bought it and read it within the week.
    Lisa Bergren has a talent with words, she knows exactly what readers love, which is why I cannot wait to get my hands on Four Winds!
    Love this post, btw.

    Like

Leave a Reply

