Heartless

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.
At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.
Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

heartless

So, I read this because I absolutely LOVE the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. (Speaking of which, I really need to do a review of that series. I totally recommend it!) Anyway, I thought that Heartless would be just as good. But, I am sorry to say that I did not enjoy it at all. It seemed like it had no actual plot. It didn’t pull me in. I didn’t make me want to know what happened next.

I mean, I know that Alice in Wonderland is a pointless story–it is a fairy tale for children. So, the main reason why I didn’t like this book was because it was based off of Alice in Wonderland and it didn’t have any real plot. The idea was really creative. It told the story as to why the Queen of Hearts was so heartless (haha, get it–heartless). And just so you know, I don’t like the Alice in Wonderland stories.

Do not get me wrong. Marissa Meyer is a great author and a wonderful writer. I didn’t not like this book because of her writing style. I didn’t like it because of the story and plot.

The cover is cool. And, if you get this as a hardcover book, look underneath the dust cover. It is even cooler. It is like a chessboard. I am giving it 4 stars.
As for the book, I am going to give it 2 stars. I would not recommend this book to anyone, unless they really, really enjoyed the Alice in Wonderland story. (But I am still recommending Marissa Meyer as an author. Read the Lunar Chronicles! You will know why!)

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Author’s Website: http://www.marissameyer.com/

Reading Resolution: #49

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

