Courage to Soar

Simone Biles’ entrance into the world of gymnastics may have started on a daycare field trip in her hometown of Spring, Texas, but her God-given talent, passion, and perseverance have made her one of the top gymnasts in the world, as well as a four-time winner of Olympic gold in Rio de Janeiro.

But there is more to Simone than the nineteen medals—fourteen of them gold—and the Olympic successes. Through years of hard work and determination, she has relied on her faith and family to stay focused and positive, while having fun competing at the highest level and doing what she loves. Here, in her own words, Simone takes you through the events, challenges, and trials that carried her from an early childhood in foster care to a coveted spot on the 2016 Olympic team.

Along the way, Simone shares the details of her inspiring personal story—one filled with the kinds of daily acts of courage that led her, and can lead you, to even the most unlikely of dreams.

Courage to Soar.jpg

Wow! It is has been quite a while since I have posted a book review. But, I am back! And, if you missed my latest post, I have started a 2017 Reading Resolution. You should totally go look at the list. It Starts with a Book and I had a bunch of fun creating it.

Anyway, back to Courage to Soar, this is a really cool book. I mean, an Olympic gold medalist wrote this book. I have to say that I don’t watch gymnastics or anything like that, but when I read this book I looked up gymnastic videos. Wow, are they cool or what?!

Simone and Michelle did a great job writing Simone’s story. It is really inspiring. Simone goes to a gym for a preschool (preschool! seriously!) day trip, and later she ends up going to the Olympics! I liked that Simone didn’t just write about her wins. She also wrote about her losses and how they encouraged her to work harder. I also liked all the quotes at the beginning of the chapter.

The hardest part to understand was all the names of the gymnastic moves. I mean, since I don’t know a lot about gymnastics (okay, I don’t know anything about gymnastics) it was hard to picture all the jumps and flips she was writing about. It also was kind of slow, but it was a good autobiography. For a person like me, who doesn’t read a lot of non-fiction books, it was a good book. So I am sure you will enjoy it too.

The cover is cool. I really like it. It immediately shows what the story will be about–a gymnast. I would give the cover 4 stars.

I still enjoyed this book. It was neat to read the story of Simone Biles. I would probably give it 3 stars. It was a little slow, but still a good book.

 

Title: Courage to Soar

Authors: Simone Biles and Michelle Burford

 

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program.

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

(P.S. This is not apart of my 2017 Reading Resolution list because I finished this book in 2016. I will specify all books that are, and, I will update my list whenever I read a book that is apart of it.)

Leave a Reply

