Where Treetops Glisten

The crunch of newly fallen snow, the weight of wartime
Three siblings forging new paths and finding love in three stories, filled with the wonder of Christmas
Turn back the clock to a different time, listen to Bing Crosby sing of sleigh bells in the snow, as the realities of America’s involvement in the Second World War change the lives of the Turner family in Lafayette, Indiana.
In White Christmas
by Cara Putman, Abigail Turner is holding down the Home Front as a college student and a part-time employee at a one-of-a-kind candy shop. Loss of a beau to the war has Abigail skittish about romantic entanglements—until a hard-working young man with a serious problem needs her help.
Abigail’s brother Pete is a fighter pilot hero returned from the European Theatre in Sarah Sundin’s
I’ll Be Home for Christmas, trying to recapture the hope and peace his time at war has eroded. But when he encounters a precocious little girl in need of Pete’s friendship, can he convince her widowed mother that he’s no longer the bully she once knew?
In Tricia Goyer’s Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
, Meredith Turner, “Merry” to those who know her best, is using her skills as a combat nurse on the frontline in the Netherlands. Halfway around the world from home, Merry never expects to face her deepest betrayal head on, but that’s precisely what God has in mind to redeem her broken heart.
The Turner family believes in God’s providence during such a tumultuous time. Can they absorb the miracle of Christ’s birth and God’s plan for a future?

Where Treetops Glisten.jpg

Since my siblings and I just put up our Christmas tree and decorations, I decided to do a Christmas book review!

Before I go any further into my review, I have to confess something. I read this book in the middle of the summer. Yeah, I am kind of weird like that, reading Christmas novels in the middle of summer. So, there you have it, I have confessed. And, I also love watching Hallmark’s “Countdown to Christmas” movies in the summer.

The reason I waited to post my review is so everyone wouldn’t be thinking, “Is she crazy? Posting a Christmas book review in summer?”

I really liked this book! It is nice when three or four novellas are put into one book. Novellas are really fun to read because they are short. They don’t take a lot of time–just ten to twenty chapters.

I am trying to decide which novella I liked the best out of the three. Each one was good so it is hard to decide. But, after a few moments of thinking, I have determined on my favorite. I’ll Be Home for Christmas is the one I enjoyed most. I do have to admit that I do like Sarah Sundin as an author in general. But, I read with an open mind! Each book was very good. I am not saying  the other books were not good. They all were! I just thought that if I was reading a book with three novellas in it, I should say my favorite.

The cover was good too! It was creative. 4 stars to you as well!

So I would like to give this book a rating of 4 stars!

 

Title: Where Treetops Glisten

Authors: Sarah Sundin, Tricia Goyer, and Cara Putman

Authors’ Website: http://www.sarahsundin.com/, http://www.triciagoyer.com/, and http://www.caraputman.com/

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

