Interview with Kasie West

To celebrate that I have finished the Write 31 Days Challenge, I have a special announcement to make!

I have done an interview with Kasie West!!! She is one of my favorite Young Adult genre authors. I have ready every single book by her (Except P.S. I Like You, but I am planning on reading it very soon)!!!P.S. I Like You.jpg

Well, let us get started!

If you have any questions or comments, please contact me by messaging me or commenting on this post.

A Few Fun Facts about Kasie West:Kasie West.jpg

I write YA. I eat Junior Mints. Sometimes I go crazy and do both at the same time. My novels are: PIVOT POINT and its sequel SPLIT SECOND. And The Fill In Boyfriend.jpgmy contemporary novels: THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, ON THE FENCE, THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND, PS I LIKE YOU, and BY YOUR SIDE. My agent is the talented and funny Michelle Wolfson.

Questions:

  1. Throughout my teenage years, it has been pretty hard to find good Young Adult romance. As soon as I found your books, I loved them. What made you want to become a YA author?On the Fence.jpg

My favorite genre to read is young adult so naturally when I thought about trying my hand at writing a book, young adult ideas were the ones that I was drawn to. And I love the themes found in young adult–coming of age, finding your voice, first loves, discovering who you want to be, overcoming challenges–all of these are so much fun to write and explore.

  1. The Distance Between Us is your first YA romance novel. It seems to be related to Pride and Prejudice where the guy is rich and the girl isn’t. Did you write this book already knowing that you would base it off of this famous classic? Or, did it just happen as you were writing?

That wasn’t purposeful. I thought about it after the fact. I think Pride and Prejudice can be applied to so many stories even when it isn’t an intended inspiration. Cinderella is another example of a classic that uses that trope. So yes, it just came about as I explored the story.

  1. What made you write two YA suspense/fantasy novels, Pivot Point and Split Second?Pivot Point.jpg

Split Second.jpgThose were my beginning. I didn’t write contemporary stories at first. I was writing more paranormal type stories before I was published. The books that I call my “practice books” or prepublication books all had some sort of supernatural element to them. I actually didn’t think I would write contemporary at all. I wasn’t sure I could carry a story that had no sweeping plot or huge amounts of plot tension but instead focused on an emotional journey. But once I wrote my first contemporary, I knew I found my home.

  1. All of your book covers are awesome. Did you have any say in what they would look like? Do you have a favorite?

The Distance Between us.jpgI have little to no say in book covers. I mean, once I see them, I can give my input to tweak them, but aside from that, covers are all about marketing. And publishing houses have some awesome people in charge of that. I feel like I’ve gotten some amazing covers. I think my favorite is The Distance Between Us. I love the colors on that cover.

  1. As a YA author, do you find it hard to write books for a tween/teenager?

I love what I write and who I write for. Yes, sometimes writing can be hard, but not because of my audience, just because that’s the nature of writing. It’s a tough job. But it’s also fun and rewarding.

  1. What book was your favorite to write?

I loved writing The Distance Between Us because like you and I both mentioned earlier, it was my first contemporary and how I discovered where my heart was. It was so much fun to write and I felt like the words were just flowing out of me. It doesn’t always happen that way, but for that book it did and I loved it.

  1. Can you give us any hints about what books we can look forward to see in the future?

By Your Side.jpgThis winter (January 31st) BY YOUR SIDE comes out. That is about a girl who gets locked in the library for the weekend with a boy she hardly knows and isn’t sure she wants to know. And then next summer (July 2017) LUCKY IN LOVE comes out. That’s a story about a girl who wins the lottery and is trying to navigate the drama that comes along with that. I’m excited for you all to read them both!

Thank you so much, Kasie, for doing this interview with me! It was awesome to think of the questions and to read your answers!

Leave a Reply

