Write 31 Days Challenge ~ Day 19 + Gilt Hollow

Writing Prompt 19:

Do you prefer to read electronic books or paper books? Why?

 

What I Did with It:

It honestly does not matter with me. I can read using e-books or paper books. It really depends on my mood. Do I want to feel the book in my hand, or do I want to read the words on the screen? Get it?

E-books are good because they don’t take up space. But, I can be reading like five books at a time and it only takes the space of my Kindle. Is that awesome or what?
But as I said, it is pretty awesome to have the actual book in your hand!! It also looks wonderful on your bookshelf while a Kindle is just a Kindle.

Either way, it is fine by me. As long as I can read, I am happy!

Gilt Hollow

Willow Lamott’s best friend is a murderer, and no one in the small town of Gilt Hollow will let her forget it. For four long years, she’s tried to fade into the background—but none of that matters when Ashton Keller comes striding into school, fresh out of juvie and fueled by revenge. The moment their eyes meet, Willow no longer feels invisible. Drawn to the vulnerability behind Ashton’s mask of rage, she sinks deeper into his sinister world and begins to question whether he’s a villain, a savior, or both.
Ashton thought he wanted vengeance, until Willow reminded him what he’d been missing. Now he longs to clear his name and become the person she sees in him. But the closer they get to uncovering the truth, the darker the secrets become, and Ashton fears his return to Gilt Hollow will destroy everyone he loves, especially the girl he left behind.

Gilt Hollow.jpg

I can’t believe I enjoyed this book. To be honest, I only requested to review this book because I liked Lorie Langdon’s work in the series Doon. But, I seriously enjoyed this book.

I can’t say that I wasn’t freaked out at times, but it was good! Okay, the only time I was really freaked out was during the clown scene. I do not like clowns so that part was a little freaky, especially when the clown was holding a knife! Yikes!!!

Random few sentences: This is how I came to not like clowns. A little while ago, my three sisters and I were telling ghost stories. I was so scared when one of them told a story about a clown in a basement. It just so happened that my bedroom is in the downstairs or basement of the house. I finally went to bed, but when I got up in the morning my brother and sister haunted me with clowns. The computer’s back screen was a creepy clown. The marker board on the bedroom’s door was a clown. From then on, I did not like clowns!
Anyway, enough about clowns. More about this book.

So, as you read in the beginning of this review, I was expecting not to like this book. I did! The characters, the setting, the plot, and everything else was so intriguing!

I didn’t really like the cover. It made it seem like the book was going to be some zombie/half dead/something of the sort plot. 2 stars to you.

As for the book itself, I am definitely going to give it 4 stars!

 

Title: Gilt Hollow                                                                                                  

Author: Lorie Langdon

Author’s Website: http://www.lorielangdon.com/

 

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program.

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

Leave a Reply

