Interview with Denise Hunter ~ Plus a Giveaway

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, I would like to introduce Denise Hunter to my blog!!!

Along with this wonderful interview, I am also hosting a giveaway for the book, Just a Kiss. I recently reviewed this book, so if you would like to read my review, click here: https://covertocoverandeverythinginbetween.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/just-a-kiss/.

I hope you all enjoy reading this interview, as much as I did writing it with Denise. She is definitely an awesome author!

Thank you so much, Denise, for doing this with me! I have really enjoyed chatting with you through email and learning more about you and your books. I hope you had a great time. I certainly did!

If you have any questions or comments, please contact me by messaging me or commenting on this post.

About Denise:

Denise Hunter.jpg

Denise Hunter is the internationally published bestselling author of more than 20 books, including Dancing with Fireflies and The Convenient Groom. She has won The Holt Medallion Award, The Reader’s Choice Award, The Foreword Book of the Year Award, and is a RITA finalist.

Denise writes heartwarming, small-town love stories. Her readers enjoy the experience of falling in love vicariously through her characters and can expect a happily-ever-after sigh as they close the pages of her books.

In 1996, inspired by the death of her grandfather, Denise began her first book, writing while her children napped. Two years later it was published, and she’s been writing ever since. Her husband says he inspires all her romantic stories, but Denise insists a good imagination helps too!

When Denise isn’t orchestrating love lives on the written page, she enjoys traveling with her family, drinking coffee, and playing drums. Denise makes her home in Indiana where she and her husband will soon be facing an empty nest.

You can learn more about Denise by visiting her Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/authordenisehunter.

Interview:

  1. Many of your books are contemporary romances. What made you want to write contemporary romances, as well as many contemporary westerns?

the-big-sky-romance-seriesContemporary romance is my sweet spot when I’m reading and when I’m writing. I love delving into the love relationship and helping my characters (and hopefully my readers) solve issues that are holding them back from having a healthy love relationship. And, I write a cowboy series—the Big Sky series. It was fun to write in a niche that takes readers back to our roots while still employing a contemporary setting.

  1. What is your favorite part about being an author?

Writing—when the writing is sailing along. Connecting with readers is a close second. I’m so grateful for social media that connects me to readers!

  1. There is always a downfall–well, almost always. What is your least favorite part about being an author?

Public speaking is probably the hardest part for me. Talking in front of a crowd is a little nerve-wracking. I’m an introvert, after all.

  1. Because many of your books are apart of series, what is your favorite series by you? Do you have a favorite book in that series?

Dancing with the Fireflies.jpgMy favorite series is the Chapel Springs series. It includes my 2 favorite books: Dancing with Fireflies and Married ’til Monday.

  1. What book cover is your favorite? I have only read a few books by you, (I am working on more, though!)but I like Just a Kiss. But, enough about what I like, let’s hear your answer!The Goodbye Bride.jpg

Oh, this one’s tough. My publisher gives me such beautiful covers! It’s probably a tie between The Goodbye Bride, Just a Kiss, and Married ’til Monday.

  1. Is there a certain author or person who inspired you in your writing?

Married 'til Monday.jpgThere’s not a particular one. I read a LOT so I’m sure many, many authors have inspired my writing. Anytime I read a well-written novel I study it to figure out what makes it work so well. Even when I’m reading, I’m working.

  1. What is one piece of advice you would give to a person wanting to write contemporary novels?

Join a local writers group, attend conferences, read books and articles on how to write. Study your favorite books and try to figure out why they work so well. Most important, set aside time to write regularly. You won’t improve without putting all the things you’re learning into practice.

Giveaway:

Just a Kiss by Denise Hunter

just-a-kiss

Riley Callahan’s plans to reveal his secret feelings for his best friend are derailed when his life is drastically altered in Afghanistan.
Watching the love of his life fall for his brother was enough to send Riley straight to boot camp. But over a year later, he’s officially a marine, and Beau and Paige are no longer an item. When Riley’s tour in Afghanistan is up, he intends to confess his feelings to Paige and win his best friend’s heart once and for all.
But all that changes when an IED takes the life of a comrade and leaves Riley an amputee. Now he’s heading home, injured and troubled. His plans to win Paige are a distant dream. She deserves so much more than the man that’s left. All he can do now is put some healthy distance between them. But upon his return he discovers his family has arranged for him to stay with Paige.
Paige is a nurturer at heart and happy to take care of her best buddy. By all appearances Riley is adjusting miraculously well to his disability. But as the days pass, Paige begins to see that the smiles and laughter are just a mask for the pain he’s hiding. To make matters worse, her job is in serious jeopardy. The animal shelter that she’s poured her heart into has lost its funding, and she has three months to come up with the money needed to save it.
As the weeks wear on, Paige’s feelings for Riley begin to shift into uncharted territory. Why is she suddenly noticing his arm muscles and the way his lips curl at the corners? Will she be able to deny her feelings for another Callahan brother? And will Riley let his heart heal so he can let Paige in?

If you would like to enter for a chance to win this amazing book, click here: a Rafflecopter

And the winner is Beth V! Congrats!

Thank you all for entering!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Interview with Denise Hunter ~ Plus a Giveaway

  1. Rebecca Hoover says:

    I can’t wait to read Just a Kiss! 🙂 My favorite place to read would be on a comfy chair or my couch. When I’m at my Grandma’s house I love to read on her front porch swing.

    Like

  2. Pam K. says:

    My favorite place to read is on my love seat in my living room, though I do read in bed to help fall asleep each night. I’m terribly behind on reading Denise’s books but have really enjoyed the ones I’ve read. Just a Kiss is one I’d really like to read. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  3. Amy Putney says:

    I usually sit on my bed to read. The downside it… then I tend to get sleepy! 🙂 Would love to read this book! It sounds like a great read!

    Like

  4. Heidi S. says:

    I love that you host all these giveaways! My favorite place to read is anywhere I can have a comfy blanket and be surrounded by lots of pillows (which is usually my bed!)!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

