Write 31 Days Challenge ~ Day 10

Wow. Time has flown by. It seems like it was only yesterday and it was sunny and seventy-five. Now, it is October 10. That is just too weird.

 

Writing Prompt 10:

I am going to give you three words. Write a story/paragraph with those three words in it at least once. You can use them in any order, though.

  1. Fall
  2. Candy Corn
  3. Night

 

What I Did with It:

I was walking down the street, one fall night, and noticed a light on in the candy store. I squint in the darkness and try to see inside the building. The light was so dim that I couldn’t see anything but a blob of light. Considering it was almost midnight, I didn’t think that anyone would be working.

Not thinking, I knock on the candy store’s door. “Hello? Anybody in there?”

No one answered.

I slowly open the door. “Hello?”

Still no answer.

I walk in a few steps, leaving the door open if I need a quick escape.

Something or someone in the back room moves.

“Who’s there?” I walk more quickly towards the back room.

When I make it to the back room, I see the source of the light. It is a small battery-powered candle.

On the floor, a bag of candy corn sits there, opened and half eaten. I slowly look around the room. Someone had to be in there.

Suddenly, I hear footsteps coming towards me from the bathroom.

“Hello?”

The person screams. “Who are you?”

The person was an old lady with gray hair.

“I could be asking you the same question,” I gasp.

The woman glares at me, and then I recognize her. She was the owner of the candy store.
“You,” I say. “You’re the owner.”

“Indeed I am,” she puts her hands on her hips. “Am I not allowed to come in my own shop and have some candy corn?”

“At midnight?” I ask, not believing what I was hearing.

“And who are you to judge me?” She raises her eye brows at me.

I shrug, “Sorry for this.” I gesture around me. “I thought you were being robbed.”

“On this fall night,” the lady snorts. “I doubt it.” She sits back down on the floor, picking up the bag of candy corn. “Care to join me?”

 

Wow. I know, that was really random. But, hey, I had fun writing it!!

One thought on “Write 31 Days Challenge ~ Day 10

Leave a Reply

