When Love Arrives

An Unlikely Couple Struggles to Reconcile the Burdens of Their Past
Dani Prescott came to the children’s hospital to spy on Brett Somers–so how did she end up on a date with him? Weeks earlier she’d seen an interview in which he blamed her mother for the plane crash that had killed his parents. But the crash had killed her mother as well, so Dani can’t believe the story Brett’s trying to sell to the media.
Vowing to find a way to discredit the privileged–and maddeningly handsome–Brett, Dani has been following him and taking photos, hoping to find something she can use against him. But when she catches his eye instead, she quickly finds herself offering up a fake name and agreeing to a date. Brett knows this mystery girl is hiding something–but he’s got his own secrets to keep. What will happen when he discovers who she really is? Will Dani and Brett look beyond their own heartaches to discover a love that could heal their deepest pain?
Fresh, flirty, and fast-paced, “When Love Arrives” is an engaging story that will have readers falling in love with the characters as they navigate the tricky waters between romance and revenge.

 When Love Arrives.jpg

I do not like giving bad reviews. Honestly. I absolutely hate it. It is the worst part about doing book reviews. But, I have to give my honest opinion on every book I read.

First things first, the overall plot was confusing. If I hadn’t read the back cover of the book, I would have been even more confused than I am now. Why is she stalking Brett? Because of any interview? What? Why? How? And honestly, if you were seriously stalking/following someone to get revenge, you would not go on a date with him–not in a million years.

The characters weren’t that impressive to me either. Dani and Brett’s story was just kinda…dull. In the synopsis above, it says ‘fresh, flirty, and fast-paced.’ I think it is quite the opposite. I mean, I have never struggled with reading an ‘inspiration/romance’ novel–absolutely never. But, this book I seriously struggled with.

I have to give a few high fives to the cover, though. I took one glance at it and loved it. The only thing I would change is the girl’s shoes, from a distance, they looked like huge white tennis shoes–not that appealing in a cover. But four stars to this cover. I might even use it if I ever take pictures for a couple.

So, unfortunately, I have to give this book 2 stars. Definitely not a favorite of mine. You  might be wondering, “If you really don’t like it, why aren’t you giving it one star?” Well, that is because I am not a mean person at all. I actually feel bad when giving books not so good ratings. Because whoever the author is took a lot of time to write and edit and work on their books. So, unless I absolutely hate the book, I will never give any book one star.

 

Title: When Love Arrives

Author: Johnnie Alexander

Author’s Website: http://johnnie-alexander.com/

 

I received this book from the Revell Division <http://bakerpublishinggroup.com/revell&gt; of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

 

Reminder:

Don’t forget to sign up for the giveaway for Any of Elizabeth Camden’s novel! Click here to go to the post: https://covertocoverandeverythinginbetween.wordpress.com/2016/09/16/interview-with-elizabeth-camden-plus-a-giveaway/

Leave a Reply

