The Flip Side

Charlie Ryland has a secret.
She may
seem like your average high school sophomore—but she’s just really good at pretending.
Because outside of school Charlie spends all her waking hours training to become one of the best gymnasts in the world. And it’s not easy flying under the radar when you’re aiming for Olympic gold…especially when an irresistible guy comes along and threatens to throw your whole world off balance.

The Flip Side.jpg

A gold and silver medalist writing a novel? Yup! Shawn Johnson is the 2008 Olympic balance beam gold medalist and team, all-around and floor exercise silver medalist! I couldn’t believe it when I picked up this book. How cool is that? An Olympian writing an awesome novel!

Anyway, I am not here to talk about the author. The Flip Side is a great story.

Through Charlie’s/Charlotte’s ups and downs, I rooted her on, and she didn’t disappoint me. I was at the edge of my seat, even though this wasn’t a suspense novel, waiting to see what she would do next.

I was also cheering for Bobby. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen to him. Does Charlie ever like him back? Does she ever like him enough to tell him the truth about her ‘two lives’? Those are just two of the questions I was asking myself as I read through this book.

The book cover is wonderful. That is what intrigued me to read this book. I just loved it! It pretty much explained the story in a nutshell. A girl who is a gymnast and a boy who is trying to find out who she ‘really’ is. It is perfect! This cover deserves five stars!

The book deserves four stars! I definitely really like it. If anyone were to ask me if I know of any good ‘real life’ teen novels, I would definitely recommend this book!

 

Title: The Flip Side

Author: Shawn Johnson

Author’s Website: N/A

 

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

