No Better Friend

A middle-grade edition of the New York Times bestselling No Better Friend-the extraordinary tale of friendship and survival in World War II.
No Better Friend tells the incredible true story of Frank Williams, a radarman in Britain’s Royal Air Force, and Judy, a purebred pointer, who met as prisoners of war during World War II. Judy, who became the war’s only official canine POW, was a fiercely loyal dog who sensed danger-warning her fellow prisoners of imminent attacks and, later, protecting them from brutal beatings. Frank and Judy’s friendship, an unbreakable bond forged in the worst circumstances, is one of the great recently uncovered stories of World War II.
As they discover Frank and Judy’s story in this specially adapted text, young readers will also learn about key World War II moments through informative and engaging sidebars, maps, photographs, and a timeline.

9780316344678_p0_v3_s192x300.jpg

I am not that ‘into’ non-fiction books. If you can’t tell from the reviews that I have already posted, I like my ‘mcbooks’ as my mom calls them. Romantic plot, girls in dresses, and perfect, gorgeous guys–those are the three main keys to my favorite books. Just kidding! I do like many books even if they don’t have those three keys. No Better Friend is one of them.

Before I go on, I must point out something. I read the Young Readers edition, not the original story by Robert Weintraub. Being a teenager, I probably could have read either one, but I stuck with the safer side. So, just so we are clear, I am talking about the Young Readers edition, not the original edition.

This is now my confessing time. I cried. Yes, I have a soft heart and cry during books as well as movies. If it is super sweet, I cry. If it is super sad, I cry. I will not say why I cried for this book, though. You will have to read it to see if I cried because of the sad parts…or the happy parts.

Overall, I enjoyed this book very much. It was an easy read with many historical facts, and it helped me understand just a little more of what life in the Japanese prison camps was like.

This book deserves four stars!!!

 

Title: No Better Friend: Young Readers Edition: A Man, a Dog, and Their Incredible True Story of Friendship and Survival in World War II

Author: Robert Weintraub

 

This reviews is written in my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

