A Vote of Confidence

WHO SAYS A WOMAN CAN’T DO A MAN’S JOB?
PUT UP OR SHUT UP! Complaining about Bethlehem Springs’ dissolute mayoral candidate, Gwen Arlington is challenged to take on the role herself. For seven years, she’s carved out an independent life in the bustling town of Bethlehem Springs, Idaho, teaching piano and writing for the local newspaper. But now she’s a single woman running for mayor—and in 1915 this decision is bound to stir up trouble.
Morgan McKinley is fed up with the delays that hinder the construction of New Hope Health Spa, a place where both rich and poor can come for rest and healing. New to the area, he has determined that serving as mayor would help him push through his agenda for progress.
Gwen and Morgan each want to prove they are the most qualified candidate, not only to voters, but to each other, and so sparks fly as the two campaign. Although Morgan has learned to guard his heart as fiercely as Gwen guards her independence, could they learn to be allies instead of adversaries?
This first book in the Sisters of Bethlehem Springs series provides intriguing insights into how women challenged convention and shaped America in the early twentieth century.

6067739

I honestly didn’t know what I would think of this book. I wasn’t sure if it would be ‘my type of book’. Boy, was I wrong! I don’t know why I waited so long to read it. Before I picked it up, it had been sitting on my bookshelf, gathering dust! (No offense, Robin Lee Hatcher.) But, I was definitely sad that I hadn’t picked it up sooner. I, myself, don’t even understand why I hadn’t read it until now. I mean, I already read and loved another one of Hatcher’s books, Catching Katie. Why wouldn’t I like her other books?

I believe my favorite part of this book was that Morgan McKinley  took piano lessons with Gwen Arlington. Because most people think that piano lessons are for little kids. Nope, not in this book! Piano lessons are for everyone, young or old, male or female. I was super excited when I read the scene where Morgan asks for the lessons. “Go, Morgan!”

I will definitely be reading and reviewing more of Robin Lee Hatcher’s books in the future! And, quite frankly, I can’t wait!

I would like to give this book 4 shining stars!

Title: A Vote of Confidence

Author: Robin Lee Hatcher

Author’s Website: http://www.robinleehatcher.com/

This review is written in my own opinions and words.

One thought on “A Vote of Confidence

Leave a Reply

