Frosted Kisses

Former Manhattan girl Penny has quickly discovered that life in a small town is never dull. Not when there’s a festival for every occasion, a Queen Bee to deal with, an animal shelter to save, and a cute boy to crush on.

There’s a new girl in town: Esmeralda. She’s beautiful, French, and just happens to be Queen Bee Charity’s best friend. Penny hopes the arrival of Esmeralda means Charity might be too busy to keep making her life miserable.

But Penny doesn’t have a lot of time to worry about Charity. Her best friend, Tally, has recruited her to help raise money to save the local animal shelter. Then there’s Marcus, the adorable and mysterious boy who Penny thinks maybe likes her as much as she likes him. Plus, this is Penny’s first holiday season as a “divorced” kid–although she has no idea what this means.

Can Penny help her friends save the shelter, navigate her new family dynamics, and get the boy, or will Charity and Esmeralda find a way to ruin everything?

Frosted Kisses.jpg

Heather Hepler once again successfully shows readers the inside a teenager girl’s life. She flawlessly writes true friendship as well as its ‘ups and downs.’ I personally think that this was a well written novel, and there were only a few things that I did not like about this novel.

When reading the back cover, I believed that there would be more focus on the ‘dynamite’ of the story, but there were so many chapters leading up to the book that I started to get bored of it. So I personally thought there was too much leading up to the ‘big stuff’.

Considering my dislikes, I still enjoyed reading this book. I loved Tally’s ‘I don’t care what they think of me” personality. She just shrugged any embarrassing moments off, which is an awesome talent. The ‘Blake and Tally’ relationship was confusing–I didn’t know if they were a ‘couple’ or if they were just ‘friends.’ I thought they were perfect together.  Because Marcus was an all-around nice guy, I can understand why Penny didn’t know if he just liked her or ‘like-liked’ her. And, I totally loved the way that almost every time Marcus was around, Penny was most likely either just waking up or in a huge mess.

The ending was cute. So, my honest opinion of this novel is that it was a very sweet book, showing the truthful life of a teenager. Now, for my star rating—I would give this book two stars.

 

Title: Frosted Kisses

Author: Heather Hepler

Website: http://www.heatherhepler.com/

 

This review was written with my own opinions and words.

Leave a Reply

